Dear Publishers and BC Authors/illustrators,

BC Chocolate Lily Book Awards is accepting submissions for the 2019 Book Awards.

Submission Deadline: January 31, 2019   (If this deadline falls on a weekend, it will be extended to midnight the next business day.)

Submission Criteria:

  1. Children’s book created by a BC author or illustrator. Authors and illustrators who have lived in BC for 3 out of the last 5 years qualify for this award.
  2. Publication year: Must have a 2018 imprint or earlier. We will consider reprints or reissues of a fiction book provided it is the first time the book has been submitted for this award.
  3. There are three categories in Children’s fiction: Picture Book category, Chapter Book/Early Novel category -suitable for Gr 2 – Gr 4 readers and Novels Category – suitable for Grades 4– 7. (If you’re unsure whether a chapter book is suitable, you may wish to submit it.  If you’re uncertain whether a picture book qualifies as a fictional story because it’s fiction within nonfiction facts, you may wish to submit it.  Our jury has short listed several picture books that could be considered nonfiction.)

Note this is a fiction award, so non-fiction books are not eligible.

Nomination Process:

  • Publishers submit books to one, two or all three categories
  • A jury consisting of teacher-librarians, English teachers,  and published authors/illustrators (without a submission that year) is appointed to read all the submissions
  • Following pre-set criteria, the jury keeps notes on each book
  • Jury meets to share and discuss their recommendations and creates a short list

Submission Entry Fee:
Please include a $30 entry fee per title submitted. (the maximum entry fee will be $200 per publishing company)
Payable to: Chocolate Lily Awards

Payment can be made by cheque or e-transfer to

Submit: Please submit 7 copies of each title.

Send ONE copy and the payment to:
Chocolate Lily Awards
2424 Quail Ridge Boulevard
Kelowna, BC V1V 1Z9
Attn:  Harmina Jansen

Send SIX copies to:
Nancy Hundal
8247 Montcalm Street
Vancouver, BC V6P 4P4

Warm regards,

Harmina Jansen
Chocolate Lily Submissions Coordinator

Karen Ehrenholz
Teacher & Founder of Chocolate Lily Book Awards