Book Trailer

Chocolate Lily 2018 Picture Book winner

Congratulations Chris Tougas author of Dojo Surprise.

Chris Tougas photo

Chocolate Lily 2018 Chapter book winner

Congratulations Kallie George author of The Missing Magic.

Kallie George winner

Chocolate Lily Book Award – Novel Category Winner

Congratulations Kathleen Cherry author of Everyday Hero!

Kathleen Cherry photo

2019 17th Annual Chocolate Lily Award Nominees



Novel Category Nominees (Grades 4 – 7)

The Bonaventure Adventures by Rachelle Delaney – Puffin Canada

Inside Hudson Pickle by Yolanda Ridge – Kids Can Press Fiction

Macy McMillan and the Rainbow Goddess by Shari Green – Pajama Press

Lady Knight – Crystal Journals 3 by G. Rosemary Ludlow – Comwave Pub House

A Month of Mondays by Joelle Anthony – Second Story Press

The Tiny Hero of Ferny Creek Library by Linda Bailey – Tundra



Chapter Book/Early Novel Nominees (Grades 2 – 4)

Black Gold by Sara Cassidy – Orca Books

The Elephant Keeper by Margriet Ruurs – Kids Can Press

Heartwood Hotel A True Home by Kallie George – Harper Collins Pub

Slug Days by Sara Leach – Pajama Press

Under-The-Bed Fred by Linda Bailey – Tundra


Picture Book Nominees (only BC illustrators noted)

Charlotte and the Rock by Stephen W. Martin ills. Samantha Cotterill – Penguin Random House

Liam Takes a Stand by Troy Wilson ills. Josh Holinaty – Owlkids Books

Tricky by Kari Rust –Owlkids Books

Underneath the Sidewalk by Claire Eamer ills. Thomas Gibault – North Winds Press

Where Oliver Fits by Cale Atkinson – Tundra


Chocolate Lily Book Awards 2018 Winners



16th Annual Chocolate Lily Awards Winners


Novel Category 

Everyday Hero, by Kathleen Cherry (Orca)


Chapter Book Category

Magical Animal Adoption Agency: Missing Magic by Kallie George (Harper Collins)


Picture Book Category

Dojo Surprise by Chris Tougas (Owl Kids)


Congratulations to the winners!


Nominated titles for 2018/2019 will be posted on the website June 1nd, 2018.

16th Chocolate Lily Book Awards Information


Welcome to the Chocolate Lily Book Awards Program.  This is our sixteenth year offering this literacy program to BC schools and families.  We hope you enjoy this year’s list of nominated titles. Students from BC schools read the nominated titles and vote for their favourite book.

The B.C. Chocolate Lily Young Readers’ Choice Awards encourages grade school students to read some of the best fiction by British Columbia’s children’s authors and illustrators.

It all began with a desire to introduce B.C. children to the books created by authors and illustrators living in their own communities.  Many wonderful books have been published by award winning children’s authors and illustrators who make B.C. their home.

“B.C. is a treasure trove of talent,” said Pajama Press Publisher, Gail Winskill.  The Chocolate Lily Book Awards celebrates this home grown talent.

Another equally important goal is literacy.  Because reading and writing are intertwined, good readers are generally good writers.  “Read, read, read!”  Delta author, Gayle Friesen, suggested in her writing tip.  Many B.C. authors give the same writing advice.

There are three categories:

Best Picture Book, as voted by students in kindergarten through grade 4

Best Chapter book/Early novel for Grades 2 through 4

Novels for Grades 4 – 7

Students may vote in either category as long as they have read the minimum number of books required.  Many avid readers may wish to read all the nominated books and may read from all lists.   The minimum for Picture books is to read or have read to you at least 5 books. The minimum for Chapter Book/Early novel and Novels is to have read 4 books.

Educational Kit

The registration fee is $20 which helps cover the cost of producing a kit that includes:

-password to the Registered Readers page which has Bios of the authors and illustrators

– voting information (available online)

The following will be sent to you by mail:

– colour poster of the nominated books (additional ones available for a fee)

– 5 bookmarks (additional ones available for a fee)

-Chocolate Lily Book Award Sticker -one for each category you participate in (additional ones available for a fee)


Voting forms are online.  Votes must be postmarked or emailed by May 15th, 2018.  Winners will be announced in June.


The Chocolate Lily Awards will be presented in June 2018.

Confirmation of location and date will be announced at a later date. 

Chocolate Lily Logo

The Chocolate Lily is a real indigenous flower that grows in woodland areas along the west coast of B.C. and nowhere else in Canada.

The Logo was designed by Vanessa Vaartnou.  The logo colours were added by Graphic Arts Designer, William Glasgow.


Contact Information

Harmina Jansen 250-491-5054

By email:

By Postal Service:

Chocolate Lily Book Awards

2424 Quail Ridge Boulevard

Kelowna BC V1V 1Z9


The Trailer of the Nominated Books

Winner of the Chocolate Lily Book Award – Novel Category

photo of Carol Anne Shaw

Hannah & the Wild Woods by Carol Anne Shaw

Nominated titles for the Chocolate Lily Book Awards 2017 – 2018

Picture Books

Spare Dog Parts by Alison Hughes and Ashley Spires

Bear’s Winter Party by Deborah Hodge and Lisa Cinar

Good Pirate by Kari-Lynn Winters and Dean Griffiths

The Lost Gift by Kallie George and Stephanie Graegin

If I Had a Gryphon by Vikki Vansickle and Cale Atkinson

Dojo Surprise by Chris Tougas


Chapter Books/Early Novels

The Missing Magic by Kallie George

Jasper John Dooley: Public Library Enemy #1 by Caroline Adderson

Blackberry Juice by Sara Cassidy

Fluffy Strikes Back by Ashley Spires



Adventure on Whalebone Island by M.A. Wilson

Duke’s Den by Becky Citra

Pandas on the Eastside by Gabrielle Prendergast

Shot in the Dark by Janet M. Whyte

Root Beer Candy and Other Miracles by Shari Green

Everyday Hero by Kathleen Cherry

A Rare Gift by G. Rosemary Ludlow

Seeking Refuge by Irene N. Watts